Posted on by Linda Ensor

Chakra Basics For Beginners

Derived from the Sanskrit word for wheel, “Chakra”, when translated directly from Hindi means, “Wheel of spinning energy.” This is where the description for chakra as a whirling vortex of energy comes from. It may seem odd, but they can be thought of as rechargeable energy batteries only rather than electricity, they’re charged with cosmic energy through earnest meditation. While we have many minor pockets of energy all over the body, we consider seven to be of utmost importance, hence,  the “Seven Chakras.” The 7 major chakras are aligned along the spine and are thought to match the major nerve centers of the body which is why it is believed that when even one of these chakras are blocked, one feels sick or out of balance.

This concept is believed to originate from the Vedas, in ancient India, where it was one of the oldest writings to have been found there. The concept of chakras is closely interrelated to the practice of Yoga which is used to unite the body/mind with divine consciousness. The 7 chakras are a way for the ancient people to illustrate the spiritual works of the human body beautifully and perfectly which is why it is still being practiced hundreds of years later.

Here is a breakdown of the 7 Chakras, their original Sanskrit names and their meanings, from the top of the spine to the base:

Chakra Basics For Beginners: Crown Chakra

7th Crown Chakra “Sahaswara”

top of the head “Sahaswara” in Sanskrit means, “thousand petaled.”


Made up of pure consciousness energy, this chakra connects us to the entire universe.

It deals with issues of inner and outer beauty and is known as the highest form of chakra which represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

Chakra Basics For Beginners" Third Eye Chakra

6th Third Eye Chakra “Ajna”

– top of the head

“Ajna” or “beyond wisdom,” the third eye chakra represents our ability to focus on the big picture. When balanced, this chakra helps you experience beauty in being in tune with both the physical and material world, receiving information from the spiritual realm as frequently as you receive information from your 5 senses.

This extrasensory chakra is responsible for the feeling of wakefulness in the daytime and sleepiness at night by sensing the light through a pinecone-shaped gland on the forehead.


Chakra Basics For Beginners: Throat Chakra

5th Throat Chakra ”Vishuddha”

– at the throat 

The throat chakra, “Vishuddha” meaning “very pure,” gives importance to your personal truths, self-expression of feelings. This lets you voice out your truth with clarity.

This chakra is responsible for allowing you to know which words to speak for each situation to inspire those around you with kindness, truth, and love.

Chakra Basics For Beginners: Heart Chakra

4th Heart Chakra “Anahata”

– at the heart

Directly translated, “Anahata” means “unhurt.” As it is located in the area of the heart, it is not hard to understand this chakra that is all about love be it for others or love for yourself.

This is the chakra that is most associated with health and spiritual healing.

When it is balanced, love for yourself and for others will be felt with equal intensities, coupled with seeing the goodness and kindness of others even in tough situations.

Chakra Basics For Beginners: Solar Plexus Chakra

3rd Solar Plexus Chakra “Manipura“

– behind the solar plexus

The third chakra, “Manipura” or when translated means, “lustrous gem”, is the chakra connected to your self-confidence, identity, and personal power.

Most people would refer to this Chakra as the force they feel that pulls them away from situations that are not for them and toward possibilities that are right for them (their “gut feeling”) But, spiritually, it actually comes from the Solar Plexus chakra. It is filled with confidence and wisdom.

Chakra Basics For Beginners: Root Chakra

1st Root or Base Chakra “Muladhara”

- at the base of the spine

The Root Chakra or the “Muladhara,” ‘Mula’ meaning root and ‘Dhara’ meaning support. This Chakra’s role is to connect your energy with the Earth or “ground” you.

This chakra is responsible for everything you need to survive, which in the modern age, translates to financial and emotional stability.

When this chakra is balanced, you will feel at peace with issues concerning money, safety, and shelter. In other words, you will feel very connected to your experience as a human.

Important Reminder!

One must keep in mind that while specific parts of the body are pointed out to correspond to different chakras, these aren’t physical entities but are rather considered as “subtle energy”. These can be thought of as the intersection between physical and metaphysical entities, or the meeting of the material and the immaterial, the mind, body, and spirit coming together.

Visit our store’s extensive collection of gemstone pendants, necklaces, and bracelets made specifically for the 7 chakras and work your way to balance all seven and live that optimal life today!

Bonus Tips For You!

Well, with all this discussion about Chakra meaning, the thing I love most about the Chakra concept is color! Color (light) is an integral part of the Chakra concept and the energies of gemstones are strongly connected to this light. Each chakra possess its own color and governs various emotional and physical issues. Healers use the stones associated with each Chakra to help overcome sickness and revive energy centers so that the energy is aligned.

Here is a sampling of appropriate Chakra gemstones:

7th Crown Chakra Amethyst (violet), Iolite, Tanzanite
6th Third Eye Chakra Lapis (indigo), Sodalite, Kyanite
5th Throat Chakra Blue Quartz (blue), Aquamarine, Turquoise
4th Heart Chakra Peridot (green), Aventurine, Emerald
3rd Solar Plexus (navel) Chakra Citrine (yellow), Amber, Yellow Calcite
2nd Spleen (sexuality) Chakra Carnelian (orange), Tiger Eye, Fire Agate
1st Root or Base Chakra Garnet (red), Red Jasper, Ruby

All gemstones are associated with a Chakra by color so the above sampling is just that. Visit our shop at to find lovely gemstones for each Chakra that fit just right for you! You won’t be disappointed!